2016 Prize winners

2016 Prize winners

With the generous support of Aberdeen Standard Investments and Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, the ECGI awards annual prizes for the best papers published in the ECGI Finance and Law Working Paper series.

Past sponsors include Allen & Overy (2008 -2018), De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek (2005-2008) and Egon Zehnder International (2005-2008).

    All | 2020 | 20192018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005


    The winners of the two prizes in the 2016 Working Paper Competition were announced at ECGI's Annual Lecture held at the London School of Economics on 22 April 2016.

    The Standard Life Investments Finance Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Finance series is sponsored by the global asset manager, Standard Life Investments.

    The winning paper:

    Social Capital, Trust, and Firm Performance during the Financial Crisis

    ECGI Finance Working Paper No. 446

    The authors of this paper are Karl Lins (University of Utah), Henri Servaes (London Business School), and Ane Tamayo (London School of Economics).


    The Allen & Overy Law Prize

    The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Law series is sponsored by the international legal practice, Allen & Overy.

    The winning paper:

    Monetary Liability for Breach of the Duty of Care?

    ECGI Law Working Paper No. 300/2015

    The author of this paper is Holger Spamann, Harvard University and ECGI.