2021 Global Corporate Governance Colloquium (GCGC)

Hosted by Yale Law School

2021 Global Corporate Governance Colloquium (GCGC)

  • 11 - 12 June 2021
  • Online

2021 Global Corporate Governance Colloquium (GCGC) 

The Sixth Annual GCGC Conference will be hosted (online) by Yale Law School on 11 - 12 June 2021. 

 

Friday, 11 June 2021 | 08:45 – 18:00 EDT (14:45 – 00:00 CEST)

Saturday, 12 June 2021 | 07:50 – 17:00 EDT (13:50 – 23:00 CEST)

Download Programme

 

ABOUT THIS EVENT

The Global Corporate Governance Colloquia (GCGC) is a global initiative to bring together the best research in law, economics, and finance relating to corporate governance at a yearly conference held at 12 leading universities in the Americas, Asia and Europe. The 12 hosting institutions are:

Columbia University,  Goethe University Frankfurt,  Harvard University,  Imperial College London,  National University of Singapore,  Peking University,  Seoul National University,  Stanford University, Swedish House of Finance,  University of Oxford,  University of Tokyo, and Yale University.

The aim of the conference series is to attract current research papers of the highest scholarly quality in the field of corporate governance. The conferences are primarily 'academic to academic' events with some participants from industry and the public sector including the practitioner partners of GCGC and other invited panelists. The current practitioner partners are Zurich Insurance Group and Japan Exchange Group (JPX).

 

BONUS EVENT

In anticipation of the GCGC event, the organisers will also present a virtual workshop on ‘The History of the Corporation’ on 10 June 2021. The workshop will journey through Imperial Russia, turn of the century Egypt and China, Edwardian Britain and the Gilded Age US, exploring issues of corporate governance that continue to resonate in the present day. The morning sessions will examine the relative performance of western-style corporations and their indigenous alternatives in Russia, Egypt, and China. More details on this event are available here.

 

www.gcgc.global

Questions may be directed to: admin@ecgi.org

This event is organised by the European Corporate Governance Institute (ECGI)

 

 

Friday 11 June 2021 | 08:45 EDT (14:45 CEST)

Back to full programme

Retail Shareholder Participation in the Proxy Process: Monitoring, Engagement, and Voting

Time:
09:00h

Speakers

Discussants

10:00

Which Firms Require More Governance? Evidence from Mutual Funds' Revealed Preferences

Speakers:
Discussant:
Back to full programme

Which Firms Require More Governance? Evidence from Mutual Funds' Revealed Preferences

Time:
10:00h

Speakers

Discussants

11:00

Coffee break

Back to full programme

The Corporate Governance Machine

Time:
11:15h

Speakers

Discussants

Back to full programme

LBO Financing

Time:
12:15h

Speakers

Discussants

13:15

Lunch break

Session 3

15:00

Coffee break

Back to full programme

As California goes, so goes the nation? Board gender quotas and the legislation of non-economic values

Time:
15:15h

Speakers

Discussants

Back to full programme

Investing in influence: Investors, portfolio firms, and political giving

Time:
16:15h

Speakers

Discussants

17:15

Day 1 - Closing Comments

Saturday 12 June 2021 | 07:50 EDT (13:50 CEST)

Session 5

Back to full programme

Tunneling Through Group Trademarks

Time:
09:00h

Speakers

Discussants

Back to full programme

The Sustainability Wage Gap

Time:
10:00h

Speakers

Discussants

11:00

Coffee break

Back to full programme

Underperformance in Family Successions: The Role of Outside Work Experience

Time:
11:15h

Speakers

Discussants

Back to full programme

For Whom Corporate Leaders Bargain

Time:
12:15h

Speakers

Discussants

13:15

Lunch break

Back to full programme

The Voting Premium

Time:
14:00h

Speakers

Discussants

Back to full programme

Systematic Stewardship

Time:
15:00h

Speakers

Discussants

Speakers

Fellow Research Member Institutional Member Board Member

Presentations

Back to all presentations

Welcome Address

Time:
08:45h

Speakers

Fellow Research Member Institutional Member Board Member
Back to all presentations

Session 1: Chaired by

Time:
22:20h

Speakers