2014 Prize winners

2014 Prize winners

With the generous support of Aberdeen Standard Investments and Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, the ECGI awards annual prizes for the best papers published in the ECGI Finance and Law Working Paper series.

Past sponsors include Allen & Overy (2008 -2018), De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek (2005-2008) and Egon Zehnder International (2005-2008).

All | 2020 | 20192018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005


The winners of the two prizes in the 2014 Working Paper Competition were announced at ECGI's General Assembly held in Brussels on 29 April 2014.


The Standard Life Investments Finance Prize

The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Finance series is sponsored by the leading investment company, Standard Life Investments.

The winning paper:

Corporate Social Responsibility and Firm Risk: Theory and Empirical Evidence

ECGI Finance Working Paper No. 359/2013

The authors of this paper are Rui Albuquerque, Boston University, Católica-Lisbon School of Business and Economics, CEPR and ECGI, Art Durnev, University of Iowa and Yrjo Koskinen, Boston University and CEPR


The Allen & Overy Law Prize

The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Law series is sponsored by the international legal practice, Allen & Overy.

The winning paper:

Towards a Legal Theory of Finance

ECGI Law Working Paper No. 196/2013

The author of this paper is Katharina Pistor, Columbia Law School and ECGI