2009 Prize winners

2009 Prize winners

With the generous support of Aberdeen Standard Investments and Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, the ECGI awards annual prizes for the best papers published in the ECGI Finance and Law Working Paper series.

Past sponsors include Allen & Overy (2008 -2018), De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek (2005-2008) and Egon Zehnder International (2005-2008).

All | 2020 | 20192018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005


The winners of the two prizes in the 2009 Working Paper Competition were announced at ECGI's General Assembly held in Paris on 17 April 2009.


The Standard Life Investments Finance Prize

The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Finance series is sponsored by the leading investment company, Standard Life Investments.

The winning paper:

Corporate Governance, Product Market Competition, and Equity Prices

ECGI Finance Working Paper No. 219/2008

The authors of this paper are Xavier Giroud, New York University, Holger Mueller, New York University, CEPR and ECGI


The ECGI Law Prize

The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Law series is sponsored by the ECGI.

The winning paper:

Shareholder Protection and Stock Market Development: An Empirical Test of the Legal Origins Hypothesis

ECGI Law Working Paper No. 108/2008

The authors of this paper are John Armour, University of Oxford and ECGI, Simon Deakin, University of Cambridge and ECGI, Prabirjit Sarkar, Jadavpur University, Mathias Siems, University of East Anglia, Ajit Singh, University of Cambridge.