2017 Prize winners

2017 Prize winners

With the generous support of Aberdeen Standard Investments and Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, the ECGI awards annual prizes for the best papers published in the ECGI Finance and Law Working Paper series.

Past sponsors include Allen & Overy (2008 -2018), De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek (2005-2008) and Egon Zehnder International (2005-2008).

All 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005


The winners of the two prizes in the 2017 Working Paper Competition were announced at ECGI's Annual Lecture held at IMD, Lausanne, Switzerland on 28 April 2017.


The Standard Life Investments Finance Prize

The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Finance series is sponsored by the global asset manager, Standard Life Investments.

The winning paper:

Board Ancestral Diversity and Firm Performance Volatility

ECGI Finance Working Paper No. 462/2016

The authors of this paper are Mariassunta Giannetti, Stockholm School of Economics and Mengxin Zhao, Alberta School of Business, University of Alberta​.


The Allen & Overy Law Prize

The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Law series is sponsored by the international legal practice, Allen & Overy.

The winning paper:

From Corporate Law to Corporate Governance   

ECGI Law Working Paper No. 324/2016

The author of this paper is Ronald Gilson, Stanford Law School and ECGI.